Eisenhower Dollars Mintage

The Eisenhower Dollar was the first coin of its denomination released after the switch from silver based coinage to copper nickel clad coinage. The series was issued to commemorate the 5 Star General and 34th President of the United States, as well as the Apollo 11 mission that brought man to the moon. The duration of the series was ultimately short, from 1971 to 1978, with many years struck with low mintages.

Eisenhower Dollar

Susan B. Anthony Dollars Mintage

Most commonly remembered for its unpopularity within circulation, the Susan B. Anthony Dollar was minted during four years. The first three years of mintage were from 1979 to 1981, and following a lengthy gap in production, the final year of the series was 1999. The obverse of the coin features a portrait of the famous women’s suffragist and the reverse features an image of the eagle landing on the moon after the Apollo 11 mission insignia. The designer of the coin was Frank Gasparro.

Susan B. Anthony Dollar

In size, the Susan B. Anthony Dollar was between the quarter dollar and half dollar. This caused confusion within circulation when the coins were reportedly often confused with the quarter. After the short duration of the series, the US Mint would create an entirely new composition and color for the following Sacagawea Dollars, in an attempt to differentiate the coins better within circulation.