State Quarters Mintage

The State Quarters series began in 1998 following the Washington Quarters series. A uniquely designed quarter was released to honor each of the 50 States in the order that they ratified the Constitution or joined the Union. The obverse design featured a modified version of John Flanagan’s original portrait of George Washington and the reverse design featured the unique design for each state. The State Quarters series has been credited with introducing millions of people to coin collecting and inspiring a generation to take a closer look at their pocket change.

Hawaii Quarter

After all 50 states were honored, a second series known as the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories Quarters was issued in the following year to honor jurisdictions not classified as states.